Doing the Do

2005-05-18

Well I�m at work and should not be doing this but frankly Scarlet I don�t give a damn! I had a request last week from my boss �I want to ask you to do something and you can�t say no!� I replied, �Well then the answer I guess is yes�. I�ve been given another small job, well not so small actually, I�m at present the administrator for this new program they are going to pilot. I�ve had slightly more training then most I guess but now I am giving another area to the program direct support with hands on kind of work. The woman that was originally trained for this part of the pilot changed jobs and I�m it until they come up with someone else.

This means now that I�m it for the entire bloody pilot. I even had the project manager come in and ask some complicated install issue that he had no idea about. He for god sake is even leaning on me. He looks very worried, and I am able to answer his questions and he pretends he knows the answer and says things like �good job�, �oh good you�re in the right place�.

My manager happened to ask in passing �How�s it all going?� �Well�, I said, �you know that woman�s name in the film where her head spins around and she vomits green stuff everywhere?� Some other person piped up and said �The Exorcist?�
�Yes that�s its Linda Blair, Yes I feel like her!� The manager just rolled her eyes. Yes she rolled her eyes that all. She has no idea that I feel like I�m being pulled in six different directions at once and the pilot goes live on Friday and it�s only going to get worse, cause I am the first point of contact for any problems. Which I feel are going to be coming at me thick and fast.

Yes they are, have just spent the last couple of hours dealing with �Objective� and the problems associated with the pilot group. It�s official I�m the bunny, but that�s ok for now, learning heaps. Even if this project leader doesn�t give me credit I know within myself who�s doing what and it isn�t him!!!

Oh yeah I have been receiving a huge amount of spam mail at work all in German and all very smutty looking even though I can�t read German I have a very good idea what they are about.

all text is the � of Ms Do