Doing the Do

2004-03-08

Couplism: the act of two people hanging out together, 2 people who want to hang exclusively with another couple. 2 halves make a whole...(rolls eyes)

Singlist: the total denial that one person can exist with in couplism.

You know i have this girlfriend called M, she was single like me all through uni and we use to bitch and moan about couples and the insecurity of some people that exist with in relationships etc.....a thing single people do i guess. I could feel her not so long ago getting to a stage where she was ready to step up to the plate and take part in dating and finding her match. I actively encouraged it and have been a very supportive girlfriend through her rocky relationship that she exits in now.

I am at a different place to her, i'm lucky i've had the marriage i have the beautiful boys that are my children. i've been there and i got out cause i it was not working and did not want to be part of an unhapply couple, god knows there are enough of those in this world without me contributing to it...(another long story) and since then i have not looked back. i've had my second sexual awakening which i must say was just wonderful after having been in a loveless marriage for so long. i've worked part time and raised my small children who are turning into wonderful and caring boys and who will turn into excellent partners (my gift to womanhood in general). I graduated in feb this year with my degree (and yes i have the pic to prove it with that silly motarboard on my head and 2 proud boys hugging their mum). So you see i am a bit further ahead than M. She's been single for most of her life and can list the number of men she's had on her fingers (decent ones that is). She's 8 years younger than me and she wants the babies and the stable relationship. I'm certain she's on the way to that right now. In fact my prediction is that she will be having a baby sometime next year.....smile (i'm sometimes right with the predictions...we'll see...smile). She is a gorgeous and sexy woman and deserves the best.

Anyway she came for a visit the other night and she told me her and P were ok again. (that was break-up number 2 with P) I asked her what she was doing this weekend knowing that i would not be slotted into her social agenda cause P takes first place. That's ok i get snippets of M and that's fine. But no, she tells me she's going on a COUPLES weekend. I know all the people she is going with as well i consider them my friends, but the thing is i'm not part of a couple. So i'm denied the pleasures of a weekend at Stradbroke Island staying in the Aunts house. I could manage the act of not being in a couple i love the beach. I'm not incapable of conversation and i have no interest in any of the girlfriends partners. its just total singlest behaviour pure and simple....rolls eyes.

She laughed and told me that last week it didn't look good cause she didn't think she was part of a couple either and Rachel the woman organising it had considered asking me and i could be the subsitute partner for M.....well fuck me on that point alone i would not go. She laughed and i just said tell Rachel 'its the most singlest thing i've ever heard'. She giggled nervously and said 'ok i'll tell her'... 'make sure you do' was my reply.

Does she not remember the bitching and moaning i use to do about this fact and the not to mention the bitching and moaning that she did as well? Obviously not when you become part of a couple, singledom totally leaves you. Please god let me never do that to my single girlfriends cause i know they are whole as one. They don't need someone to complete them.

Now having said all that.....that bloody Phil has not called or contacted me all weekend....damn the life of a single woman can sometimes be a real bitch.

all text is the � of Ms Do