Doing the Do

2004-04-29

I have a really bad ear ache at the moment it feels like half my face is numb. I�ve been eating Nurofen Plus and that�s only just taking the edge off.

It�s been busy at work and after 5 weeks they are just now realising that the Temp is more skilled than they realised. The work is starting to build up, but I�d prefer to be busy than slow I guess, just that�s it�s cutting into my diary time here.

Otis my eldest is going into hospital for day surgery tomorrow so the week is over for me there. He�s a boy that�s had a long time in hospital but doesn�t remember any of it. He�s already had 2 operations, one he had when he was 100 days old. I say a 100 cause when your born 15 weeks early you only count in days, cause it feels far more significant. He had to have 2 hernias repaired which we all thought was going to a walk in the park after what he�d already been through, well no it wasn�t. One of his lungs collapsed and he was over in the children�s section of the hospital, so that meant bringing him back to the neonatal area of the hospital, which was a distance. He came out of surgery and the nurse was bagging him, he had I think (12 years ago memory is fading)2 other nurses and a Dr and an orderly, so it was a team really and me. As we approached the lift the nurse who was bagging him said go clear the lift so we can get him there faster.

I ran to the lift and when one arrived I calmly said to the people inside �Ok, you all have to vacate the lift� and of course you know how people behave in lifts they become deaf, blind and mute, I got no response. Again I said with a more force, �Out you get now�, no response. �Get out of the lift NOW, my baby is on its way I need the lift to get him to intensive care his lung has collapsed, SO GET THE HELL OUT PLEASE�, yep that did the trick they jumped out and the nurses, Dr and Otis got in the lift. He was ok just took some time for him to climb back up that ever present hill but he did as always. I do think this though was the straw that broke the camels back with relation to him coming home on nasal oxygen.

His second op was to get grommets and have his testical descended. He got the grommets thank goodness but they said that they felt like his testical was coming down on its own. He had the worst case of ear infections I�ve ever seen. I always felt like I was a neglectful mother when it came to him and his ears. He has a very very very high pain threshold,(it comes with being austistic) no I mean REALLY HIGH. I don�t know how many times he�s told me he had a sore ear and I�ve immediately taken him to the Dr�s to be told how badly they were infected and they couldn�t understand how he was still so chirpy with such red bulging eardrums. I don�t know either but the Drs always looked at me sideways.

Anyway tomorrow�s op is to have is testical descended yes that�s right, it never came down they think it is the scaring from the hernia�s that�s keeping it up there so I guess tomorrow he will be sore and sorry. Not having balls I have no idea but I can only imagine it is going to be really sore. Poor darling, but knowing Otis he�ll be a very good patient and won�t complain.

He�s got scars all over himself from his 18 weeks in hospital as an infant or as I use to call him a skinned rabbit. Mind you I am the only one who was allowed to call him that. I thought he was beautiful even when most normal people would have found it hard to even look at him. He had is nipples pulled off with a piece of tape cause his skin was so foetal, burn marks from IV lines, circle burns on him tummy from some sort of monitors, I use to know all the names of all the machines and I knew every alarm and what it meant. There were times when an alarm would go off and I think oh he�s not breathing and I�d flick him on the butt and off he�d go again. I guess it�s what you get use to hey, not normal now I know that after having a full term baby, but back then that was my first pregnancy and that was normal�rolls eyes.

Anyway wish us luck and speak to you all soon.

OUCH MY EAR HURTS�I�m not like Otis at all�.smile

all text is the � of Ms Do