Doing the Do

2004-05-22

I think i've had my 15 seconds of fame which is a bit of bummer really. Was hoping it would last a bit longer and perhaps someone might have heard it as well but oh no i did it on my own as per fucking usual.

I love the radio station ABC Radio National and i love the program called "Life Matter", i'm kinda hooked on it. Anyway they had a very interesting program called 'love on line' and i wrote an email to the. I thought they might reply at least but no not a word. I was listening to the same program the next day and low and behold they read out my email. And this is how it goes....

As love goes it was one of the most intense experiences I have ever had. I did not believe it could be possible to fall madly in love with someone that lived half way round the world and in such a short space of time and with such intensity.

I met Sam in a chat room and we started chatting for about 8months. To

this day I know more about him than almost any lover I�ve ever met including my ex husband whom I was with for 12 years. Even though the bandwidth of

communication is very low and is limited to voice and text and images and

perhaps web cams as apposed to visual, tactile, emotional cue, facial

expression and body language in general, the content of that bandwidth exchange was extremely intense and revealing. What worked for us was that we were both

open and honest.

Anyway I did make the trek over to USA to met Sam over 2 years ago and it

was the most wonderful and nurturing experience I have ever had. Even though

we are not together now because we both have children and would not move because

of the fracturing of our children�s lives with either of us moving and

ultimately losing a parent to distance. I can honestly say that 2 years later it has been bitter sweet. He�s set an incredibly high benchmark for my next long-term lover and really I feel like I�ve been spoiled.

I would not change that experience for anything. I however don�t anymore

do on line relationships, as I do know the flip side to distance. Now I go on

endless coffee dates with locals and leave most of them shaking my head.

Yes yes i'll send autographs....smile

all text is the � of Ms Do