Doing the Do

2004-05-22

At the moment I must be oozing some sort of mystical powers. Or I might just have opened my eyes again I�m not sure but I have noticed a certain amount of male attention coming my way.

I found myself again in a bookshop doing what I do when I get in there. Collecting armfuls of books and clutching onto them as though someone might take them off me, even though there are at least 10 more of each of them on the shelves. I don�t know must be something from coming from a large family nothing was your own unless it was held on your person. Anyway after realising I was carrying about 6 books and not able to pick up another and this was spoiling my ability to touch every book I wanted to read. I dutifully replaced all of them and paced back and forth almost breaking into a sweat over which one was coming home with me. (Not unlike, well you know, a woman in a roomful of men all beckoning for your attention and vying for the chance to come home with you�.yes a dream I often have�sweet smile). I have a thing about smell it has to be right in any circumstance a man or yes even a book. So that was the final test I felt the covers of the intended books and smelt the pages and made my choice. In the middle of this little ritual I noticed a man watching me not just glancing but down right staring. Yes it could well have been the odd ritual I was performing but my senses told me know it was me he was ogling.

I�ve come to a place ok were really I am just over the entire dating shit and I�ve come to the conclusions that if anyone is really that interested well then they have to have the balls to approach me. You know it wouldn�t take much just something slightly off centre.

So after glaring back at that man in the bookshop I walked away. Obviously I was not that wonderful to him as he made no attempt to speak to me but continued staring even as I paid for the book. I mad my way home and got a call on my mobile from a girlfriend and we decided to meet for dinner at restaurant in my suburb called �Miss India�, gotta love that name.

I arrived first and got out of my car and felt that glare again, yes another man taking me in�.what the fuck is happening? I thought and smiled back nicely. While I waited for M to arrive I went up to my favourite shop and ogled at all the household items I�d love to have. Like this lamp that�s shade is made of feathers�I love it! I might have even let out a small OOH and AHH as well I can�t be too sure, cause you know I�m so use to entertaining myself, I know longer know if I am actually thinking or saying what�s in my head�I know bit sad but none the less that�s me. After taking my time I returned my attention to dinner and noticed M outside �Miss India�, now M is a beautiful sexy young woman much smaller than me. I always feel like a giant when with her and I�m not that large. And that man that was there when I got out of my car was still there sitting by himself taking me in again. I did the mental check of myself to make sure my fly was zipped or something odd was not going on and leaned into M and gave her a kiss and hug and we went into the restaurant and as I passed that man again he was beaming an unbelievable smile at me. I smiled back of course; possibly it could have been a quizzical smile.

M says to me �did you see him staring at you?�

� Yes why is he doing that?� I asked

�Well duh!!! He must fancy you, go say something to him.�

� NO if I�m worth it he has to say something not me.�

Its become a catch cry of late�. smile. And he didn�t of course he just lingered and smile several times where it got to the point of me not being able to bear it. I was glad he left actually it was making me feel uncomfortable.

Anyway the point is I got on the net last night just for a quick round of the chat room (slightly pissy, what�s one or two wines, you have to be to be in those rooms) and it seems this mystical power I have can be conveyed through a computer. I got four offers for dates and 2 I just ignored.

Being a bit more pissy (perhaps one or two more wines) I decided to go meet this man for coffee, which I should not have done, I didn�t pay attention to any of his details at all I just went on a whim. He said I�ll meet you in the foyer of a certain hotel and I�ll be wearing a pair of black pants and yellow shirt.

So I rocked up 10 mins late cause I�m just not punctual and as I was about to walk in I could not stop myself from laughing cause there in the foyer was a old man who had on a pair of black pants (shorts) with very skinny legs and pot belly hanging over the top and a bright yellow shirt on and a weird looking headband. And I thought oh just my luck I have no idea what this man looks like. As I got closer and he came into my vision which I must say has to very close without the glasses, which I had forgotten to bring. I realised it was a old yellow cab Taxi driver (yellow and black in their uniform) and that made me bust into laughter. So I arrived into the foyer still amused at that thought and was greeted by I must say a very unhappy man.

I spent the next hour arguing with this man over women�s rights and defending women in general. He kept making these huge generalisations about women and how they have emasculated men and trying to make it ok by saying �I know you�re not like that�. I tell you it took all my strength not to fucking hit him. What a bloody tosser he was�rolls eyes. After he told me women should stay home and look after the kids I said. �Right then I�m going to have to go� and he thought this was a joke. I stood up and said for the first time. �Don�t bother calling I would no longer spend anymore time with you than fly to the moon� and I walked away.

I think for me, these coffee dates have become a sport, it has no longer become even exciting!! Anyway I have also accepted another date with a man that lives down the Gold Coast. He�s driving up during the day and taking me out. I have absolutely no expectations and I will report back. Is there any point to all of this except to gather data for a diary entry? Rolls eyes!!!

all text is the � of Ms Do