Doing the Do

2004-12-25

It�s been a long and very hot and humid day here in Brisvegas. Christmas is over this year. I�ve done my Motherly duty for the boys. They wanted to spend Christmas day with their Cousins, Uncles, Aunts and Grandparents on their Fathers side and they wanted me for the first time in 6 years to come with them. I did it and I hope not ever to do it again.

I arrived at K�s house she begged me to come, she knows what the Grandparents are like and told me she could just hit Papa sometimes I agreed in my head but did not speak the words to her. So I pulled up and the boy�s father arrived at the same time he�d done a shift at the Vet Surgery. I had wine and 2 huge fruit platters he looked at me and walked past, he did not say a word. I said �Merry Christmas� and he grunted. I realised then and there what I was actually doing. I didn�t want to go through with it but I did.

I was pleasant, kind, caring I even helped clean up. I ignored all digs that Papa likes to make. I smiled back I didn�t give him any fuel to attack.

K had just been speaking about the Church service they had attended and how wonderful it was. She spoke of the words the Preacher (no idea if that�s what you call him or a priest, I don�t know what church it was) and how he talked about accepting everyone for who they are and accepting everyone�s uniqueness. I took it in and thought what a lovely message.

Papa and Grandma where leaving just 2 mins after what K had said we all followed them into the kitchen before they left to say our good byes. Papa turns to me and says��make sure you take those boys for a walk twice a day they need the exercise look at Seamus in comparison to his Cousin he�s overweight��. he said that in front of Seamus. I could not hold my tongue any longer. I don�t care what he says about me but I�ll be fucked if I am going to stand there and have him speak like that about my Son. I turned to him and said.� did you not just hear what K said about accepting people for who they are and their uniqueness you over look so much about Seamus and only concentrate on his weight��. I did wait for a reply I had to walk away. I do not like him he is a bully and he has taught his son (the boys dad) to be exactly the same. Now I remember why I don�t visit them.

We have been home for several hours just chilling out; my house is a mess I have not packed anything.

Its raining now and a cool breeze has broken. The boys are in bed, I�m smoking my heart out and I vow never to spend another Christmas with my Ex In Laws again.

Tomorrow I�m up bright and early, walking, packing, cleaning, loading up the car, locking up the house and driving to Yamba to be with my family. My family is huge in numbers, we are all loving, caring, kind, accepting and warm hearted and I look forward to the next 10 days that I spend amongst them.

We will be at the beach swimming, riding the waves on the boogie boards, out past the breakers, laughing, fishing, boating, drinking, cooking, reading and loving one another. I can hardly wait.


Oh yeah on Christmas Eve I finally got the contract at work and the wage I was asking for. That part of my life for the next year is sweet!

all text is the � of Ms Do