Doing the Do

2005-06-16

The news is I have almost unpacked everything except for about 4 boxes which can just wait for the time being��YAY!!!! It wasn�t so bad after all. It was GOOD.

I�m loving the new house, there is so much space, I just have to get some curtains for the lounge room and my bedroom because at the moment my bedroom has double French doors that open onto the deck and there is no room for any playing at all. I could not bare the new neighbours to see me alone (sigh) at work�evil grin. It just wouldn�t be appropriate. I am because of this fact actually climbing the walls at the moment. Relief is in sight because the boys are off to their Dad�s tonight and Otis and Seamus� rooms both have curtains. Don�t anyone tell them though or they will never sleep in their own beds again.

Enough of that �..I am finishing work at 3.00pm tomorrow, picking up my younger brother from Roma Street Station. He�s flying in from Hervey Bay tomorrow and catching the train from the airport. I will be collecting him then collecting the boys from home and we are all setting of to the hometown as Mum is turning 80. All 10 siblings will be together for the weekend. An event that rarely happens and usually ends poorly. The last time we all got together on the Gold Coast the Police were involved. Very long story involving a poor unsuspecting man in the bar that happen to pick on one of the nephews and gave him a black eye in the toilet. The poor bastard had no idea the entire bar was related and out for blood. I ended up walking into the women�s toilets to be confronted with the said man hiding in a toilet and screaming for his life and my brothers, uncles and remaining nephews trying to scale the said toilet to get at him. I screamed �SECURITY� as the door was being kicked in. That�s just a glimpse of the night. There is fire in the belly of all my family members and they are all very protective of one another that poor man will think twice before taking on someone half his age again.

That being said it should be funny, bitchy (in a sibling sort of way), dangerous and wonderful. Weird combo but strangely good, I am looking forward to it. The boys are very excited they keep asking me to name all the members of the family, some they don�t really know at all, like J my younger brother.

J and I spent a lot of time together he was going to Drama College and I was going to Art college we shared a flat. I supported him cause I worked part time and he cleaned the house because I couldn�t stand it. He was at that time going through hell with the family cause he had decided to come out of the closet. I was his strongest support. That is bond that will never break us. He and I are the only ones that have gone onto higher education I like him as a person. He�s creative and I think I can say that I have been to almost every play he has been in or directed. The boys last year only just worked out he was gay, they were shocked. They thought K, J�s partner was just a good friend. It�s so normal for me I didn�t think to explain I just assumed they knew everyone does�smile.

So it will be nice for me to have some adult company on the drive down and back. We will more than likely talk about our other brother and sisters�. Smile. I�ll let you know how it goes after the weekend I�ll take some pictures too!! I�m looking forward to the entire weekend and so are the boys!

all text is the � of Ms Do