Doing the Do

2005-06-14

What a weekend!! And it was a long weekend as well.

Friday got home from work realised the bloody mini skip (dumpster) was still in the driveway which they were suppose to pick up on Friday so that the removal truck could get into the drive way. I picked up Nerddette who offered to help me pack the remaining stuff at home. I ended up dropping her home at 1am then rushed back home to go to sleep because I knew the moving truck and two men were arriving at 7am. Do you think I could get to sleep? Nope I was still awake at 2am.

My alarm went off at 5am and I reset it for 6am. I got up got showered and the day began. The removalist pushed the mini skip back into the driveway and under the house and then we all started. S was there (my girlfriends husband), so we moved boxes, furniture, clothes, crockery, linen and a million other things I didn�t realise I had to get it all over to the new house. I ended up writing a cheque at 12.30pm and waved goodbye to the men that helped. It was well worth spending the money to have them do as much as they did.

Then Nerddette and R arrived to help unpack. They are both very organised and much more bossy than I am. I was unable to make any decisions about anything by that stage so I let them deal with the kitchen and I assembled beds and started in the bedrooms. It was 7.30 before we sat down on the back deck for dinner and bottle of wine. By that stage I could not string two words together. The boys arrived home and we all fell into bed around 10ish.

Up the next morning and began again to unpack. R ended up spending the night with her son and they left at about 11am Sunday. I continued to unpack and went to my sisters for dinner that night. The first night alone I ended up with both boys and Gloria (the cat) in bed with me. I could not stand the crowd so I ended up in Otis� bed.

Monday I got up and again continued to unpack and reshuffle. I went and picked up my sister who had flown in on Saturday night from UK and meet again Nerddette back over at my old house at 12.30pm. We cleaned for over four hours till my hand hurt and my body ached.

I�ve had enough of moving and I still have more to unpack. I am mostly done though and that thanks to the many helpers and friends. I�m so blessed to have such great and caring friends. A big thankyou goes to Nerddette she has been wonderful. She even went to my house today while I was at work to wait for the optus man to put in the broadband and cable tv. She gave me all of that help even though she had an exam this morning at 8.30am. THANK NERDDETTE!!

Oh yeah I have a new house and i got rid of heaps of junk that i was carrying around and i have an interview for a new job next Tuesday!!

all text is the � of Ms Do