Doing the Do

2005-07-03

This is the first weekend in what seems like a month that I have not had the boys. I had Wednesday and Thursday at home with the boys on holidays. I was supposed to go to work on Friday but I didn�t feel that well. Freaking earaches again so I had Friday off as well. So this weekend it has been three days home alone. Well I have of course had visitors and been out but just no kids. It�s been very nice.

I feel like it�s the first time I have had time to take in properly my new home. I�m finding it a bit hard to adjust really. I can�t get use to the traffic noise and I�m not sure I really want to! It�s a great house just that it�s on a main road and close to an intersection. I don�t know if I want traffic noise to be part of my life, such a part that I get use to it. I�m not sure I�m comfortable with that at all. I�ll let you know in 6 months cause that�s how long the lease is. I really like the house and the closeness to Otis� school just that bloody traffic.

I was cleaning the house today. I eventually got round to it at about lunchtime and I was scrubbing the white bathroom. Whoever invented a white bathroom was not a cleaner or had no intention of cleaning one. It looks great but keeping it white with too grotty boys, and a mother who detests cleaning is going to a challenge. I was leaning over the bath and on the edge of the bath there is sliding doors for the shower. We have a terrazzo floor in the bathroom and little did I realise how slippery it gets. I was using �elbow grease� as my mother would have said and I lost my balance and slipped. It sort of happened in slow motion cause I knew I was falling but I had nothing to steady myself on. I was falling towards that metal track that contains the sliding doors I connected with it just above my knee and slipped again. I wasn�t sure if my hip or my ribs was going to land on it next. Thank fuck my hand came out of nowhere and stopped me falling any further. My hand hit the bottom of the bath and stopped what would have been a broken rib for sure it faulted and slid slightly as I somehow managed to get out of the way.

Now what I have is bruise like I have never seen before. Its black and purple with red dots all through it. It�s about 14 cm long and 5 cm wide. God it hurts. Just not sure if I should be putting ice or heat on it. One thing I know is it hurts to touch.

all text is the � of Ms Do