Doing the Do

2005-08-02

Otis is still sick. The flu has taken hold of him and he still has a temp. He had the day off school yesterday and spent that time with his Dad. It�s my turn today. He had many and varied dreams last night. I kept going into his room to check on him. He had a raging temp and was, I think, trying to escape the clutches of giant and he needed a ring with his name written inside of it. That�s all I could get out of him while he was dreaming.

I�ve rung work to let them know. I was supposed to be having a meeting with the interview panel called �Outcome from the Interview�. That can wait, as I�m sure they are just going to say NO! Or try and talk me down from the wage I asked. Either way it doesn�t bother me. If they say no, that�s ok I just keep working until I find the job I want or if they try and negotiate and don�t give me what I want I will say NO! And keep working until I find the job I want.

To �S� a work colleague who asked so nicely that I update my perception of him being an arrogant arsehole to the lovely guy that he is. I tried to find that entry in my archives but I just can�t seem to see it. I changed from a web log which had several entries on the one page to one that had a new page for each entry and when I did this all the entries that were on one page were lost�.big sigh�.

I shared a pod with �S� and another guy when I first started at BCEC I knew nothing about what I was suppose to be doing, I was a temp and in �S�s� eyes I was waste to invest time in because temps only come for short periods of time. I can see that and I guess I knew that. He would only ever answer a question of mine with a short sharp reply and sometimes he would say, �Why do you need to know that?� Over time he realised I was staying longer then a normal temp and my questions where persistent and more pointed towards the problems at hand. He started sharing information.

D a woman that I work with had a jar of lollies that she had sitting on her desk and people from all over the office would come and get a sugar fix. �S� would sometimes come for his sugar fix and I made a rule that he couldn�t have any lollies/candy unless he gave an answer to a question we had. He would arrive at the lolly jar and say, �Any questions?� and of course I would have one. Sometimes he was in credit and sometime we were in debt. The point I was trying to make was that he couldn�t have a sugar fix unless he was willing to give information. It worked and a good relationship developed.

�S� is a thinker and very smart. He hates wasting time that�s his biggest issue; he hates being interrupted from his own work and his continual search for knowledge. This kind of behaviour results in a kind of detachment from any emotional issues. He sees the facts and there is no emotion attached at all. I on the other hand am emotionally attached to the issues and can only let go when I have a solution. I come from an emotional base and he comes from an intellectual base. �S� steps over into the emotional side more now and I switch to the intellectual side. There is a definite meeting in the middle. When we meet there it�s very special because I respect this knowledge base and I can see that he�s not emotionally devoid. I�m assuming he seems my intellectual side and recognises that�s my motivation to correct an issue and my quest into his knowledge base.

�S� never lets his work and social life collide. When he�s at work it�s all work and no play. I�ve met his wife by accident, which I could see he was uncomfortable about. I told �S� that I saw him trying to Shepard her out of the building without anyone speaking to her. He looked and smiled at me, he knows I�m not stupid and that my perception is usually spot on.

�S� shared his holiday pictures he took in Vietnam. I told him that I felt special that he had sent them to me and I also said that he had a great eye for photography. I told him which was my favourite and spoke about his framing of the pic and the subject matter. I have a deep appreciation for art and I expressed this to him. He listened to me and realised I knew what I was talking about.

I once came down to the courtyard to have cig. �S� and a group of his friends were having lunch. I sat down took a look around and noticed that �S� had an old 70�s looking tie on and I said �Love your tie �S��. The entire group had been paying out on him and saying how bad it was. They all looked at me as though it had been rehearsed. �S� said, �I didn�t ask her to say that�. He said �Ms Do understands fashion and art and she has eye for it, you are just so way behind the times you geeks (which they are), I�m not listening to you but to Ms Do�. And with that he looked to me and said �Thanks Ms Do you have just made my point to the others�, I smiled back. It was a good tie and it looked good. He has an artistic eye also.


�S� and I now have an understanding and mutual respect for each other. I don�t ask stupid questions I do my research and I only come to �S� when I have problem that truly does require his help. He willingly gives me the information that I require in fact he�s generous with his time when the subject meets his approval. He in turn respects my opinion and my aesthetic eye, my creative problem solving and emotional intelligence.

Actually I can safely say that I really like �S� he�s a special person and I have time for him in and out of work. Its all in the approach with �S� and if you do that right he will meet you half way and give all he has to give.

Thanks �S� for allowing me to step into your circle, I know its small and I�m please to be apart of it. I know that�s way to much emotion but for once you have to deal with it!

all text is the � of Ms Do