Doing the Do

2007-09-18

Well today I did what I promised Seamus I wouldn�t do. I reported an incident at the school in which he was involved.

He was playing football with some boys (on a Wednesday last week) and one of the boys wouldn�t give back his football. He asked several times and still the boy wouldn�t, so Seamus ran at him at full speed and knocked him to the ground. This boy then got up and punched him several times in the head. It must have hurt because he cried which encouraged the boy to become a bully and tormented him for crying.

Seamus came home that night and complained that he had been punched and he felt dizzy and sick. I of course kept my eye on him and asked the boys name. He told me but of course I forgot it. The next day his neck was really sore and I couldn�t massage it because it hurt too much. Friday he was still not feeling great and I asked the boys name again because I wanted to report it. I know that Seamus was in the wrong but I think punching to the head is not appropriate and needs to be squashed even if it means that Seamus also gets into trouble. He would not tell me and begged me not to report him.

The weekend comes around and by Sunday night his jaw is so sore it�s making him feel sick and it�s clicking when he talks and chews. He has Monday off school and I took him to the guy I go to when I have back problems and any other injuries. P takes a look and says yes he�s got a very badly strained jaw which has caused all the muscles to contract around it which in turn has made his jaw be misaligned and that�s why it�s clicking. He starts massaging and realises that his neck is out as well and does some slight manipulations and gives him some acupuncture.

Today it feels slightly better and we are going back on Friday evening to get another session underway which should fix it. He said left untreated he could easily have arthritis in his jaw by the time he�s 21.

I thought about it all night and Seamus begged me again not to say anything but I can�t let it go. Even though Seamus was in the wrong I don�t feel that punching to the head is acceptable under any circumstances. So I rang the school and spoke with his Grade supervisor. I told him how what had happened and I told him Seamus was worried that it would have repercussions for him because all his friends are friendly with this boy. The teacher told me he would try and be sensitive about the issue but he was glad I had reported it.

Ok so this will mean that tonight he will be very annoyed with me and there will be a huge verbal fight that will happen. I don�t care that boy needs to brought back into line. It may stop him from doing it to someone else and it might help in the long run address his anger issues. Really its assault and he should be paying the bills I�m having to for getting Seamus� jaw fixed.

Tonight is going to be hellish!!

all text is the � of Ms Do