Doing the Do

2004-04-02

Here I sit at my desk with nothing at all that looks homely. You see I�m a temp at a very bureaucratic organisation. I have a desk yes sure, a chair yes that too I even have a nice little foot stool which at the moment my feet are leaning against. I have a set of draws that had nothing in them. I�ve put in some hand cream tissues and some chewing gum. I found one pencil, a very small collection of sticky note pads. (Oh dear I just looked in the bottom draw it has files in it.) As I did that the guy sitting opposite me lets call him Soreback (yes he hurt it from sitting for �prolonged periods at his terminal� his words not mine) noted that I had files. You can all rest easy they will gone by Monday. I have a laptop and a mouse (thank goodness) and a mouse pad. And that is the extent of my office equipment.

Being the Temp means you�re slightly invisible for things like chatting or friendly conversation but highly visible when you�ve had 2 seconds over your break-time. Not only that but come Friday�s you get that sinking feeling�. will she be ticking (on my timesheet) that box that says, �This assignment is continuing� and not the �This assignment is completed�. I�m glad that I�m not thinking that this is my lifetime chosen job, cause I would be very worried about the balancing act this job offers me. It is very good for filling in time and watching the money tick over but as for lifetime commitment I don�t think so. Hope I�m still not here in 6 months.

Oh I just came back from a break and I cracked the circle of speaking. I have sat and listened to those bloody geeks talk about SQL, Severs, Proxy Servers, and all there banter about helpdesk calls and frankly they just wank on. I think really it�s just a release and nothing more but they do have this total arrogance about themselves because they don�t think anyone else understands them. Well yes it is another language and I do understand it and frankly it�s very boring and you sure don�t impress people with that kinda talk. Anyway I was down having a cig break or as they call it �afternoon tea�, and as I didn�t have a coffee or anything to eat it purely is a nicotine fix. I walked out into the smoking zone and thought �.oh no the bigmouthnonstop-talking-geek and the hardnose bitch are here. So I sat down listened to their talk and I added my 2cents worth. Yes I spoke their language�shock and horror. I had hardnose bitch offering to get me a monitor and a keyboard so that I can be comfortable and bigmouthnonstop was chewing on me ear. He actually put down his palm pilot in favour of talking to me. Now I know this should be regarded as a good thing, I don�t mind hardnose bitch softening but I�m not sure I want bigmouthnonstop-talking geek talking to me every time I have a break.

He actually cracked me up the other day. He geek bigmouthnonstop-talking-geek was talking about fashion with an air of authority. I just had to listen; I was wondering what he had to offer on the conversation. He even managed to make fashion the most boring subject in the world. I have lived and worked in fashion for many years prior to having children (BC as I call it) and never once found it boring, I�ve always loved fashion from wearing second hand clothes from the huge warehouse of stuff that use to come by the truck loads in the early 80�s into this one second-hand place in Kings Cross which was across the road from where I lived, to the higher end of fashion from the agency where I never ever paid full price for anything. In fact we had a budget for clothing when I worked their cause you had to be wearing the latest shit. That was the worst time for fashion and me you had to sell your own personal style in favour what was selling or what you wanted to sell (which often was the worst looking thing on the racks). I ran a huge stockroom in a wholesale Fashion Agency and sold to all the boutique owners throughout Queensland and they loved me cause I never ever sent them shit or gave them a bad deal. I have my father�s talent of being able to talk to anyone and sell anything�. smile, he was an insurance agent many years ago. So what I�m trying to say is that bigmouthnonstop-talking-geek is gonna latch on to me as another victim he can spin his boring talk to. Ok well I have to get a plan in action to combat that one.

all text is the � of Ms Do