Doing the Do

2005-02-06

That was a huge weekend�

Drove to my hometown 4 1/2 hours away on Friday night with the boys. We listened to a BBC Radio play all the way down �The Bomber� by Len Dreighton. They loved it because it involved fighter planes from WWII. I must say I really enjoyed it too. It did get hideously loud at times with all that shooting, but it passed the time.

We arrived there at about 10.30pm. I tucked them into bed and chatted to my sister for a short while. You see it�s the hometown Rural Show. I guess that�s like a country fair for all you US people. My sister is the show secretary, so all those farmers or committee member rely on her for everything. She�s the pivotal point for all the action. I hardly saw her all weekend but that�s ok. I had another 2 sisters there and my Mum.

So there were 4 kids my sister�s and mine 2. That meant they were able to roam around the show most of the day just popping back begging for money like they do�.smile It was good to catch up with all those people that you grew up with, some you would rather forget generally it was a good, weekend but extremely exhausting.

I arrived on the Friday night and I wanted to drive past the showground. When we were growing up there we lived up the road from the showground. Anyway I was going round the corner I think I�ve turned that corner over a million times and really its kind of not a corner you have to go that way anyway its like and dog leg kind of turn. I wasn�t really paying attention I had driven for the last 4 1/2 hours and I felt like I was home, so I was cruising. Both boys were asleep, one lying down in the back with a seat belt strapped round and the other with the seat completely laying down in the front.

I guess I could have looked like a drunk cowgirl just leaving the show ground with only one person in the car. I looked up into my revision mirror and yes I had the flashing red and blue light behind me. I kind of couldn�t believe it and was looking around to see who they would be doing that too�.yes turns out they were after me.

I got out of the car, still dressed in high heels and work cloths, not looking like someone from the country. Constable Williams�.yes I took particular care to catch his name because he was not nice to me. First of all he says��any reason why you didn�t indicate going round the corner?�

Me: �What corner?�
CW: �The one just back there�
Me: �Oh that�s not a corner�
CW: �Any reason why you didn�t indicate?�
Me: �No I didn�t see it��(MY INNER VOICE: I was tired and brain dead I just drove 4 1/2 hours straight after a full weeks work and I was too interested in looking at the lights from the showground�there is no one out here anyway they are ALL in the showground)
CW: �Have you been drinking?�
Me: �Hardly I haven�t had time yet I�ve just arrived�
CW: �Can I see your licence?�
Me: �OK��I bent down into the car searched around for my bag found it pulled out my purse and gave him my licence.
CW: �Well Mrs Do have you been drinking?�
Me: (MY INNER VOICE: It�s not MRS its MSSSSSS�. I�ve earned that freaking title and I�ll be fucked if your gonna call me Mrs�.) Long Pause�.�No I haven�t been drinking�
Then I lost my balance and fell against the car and then I giggled like a drunk fool�I was totally annoyed that he�s called me Mrs�That�s my mother�s name!!!
CW: �Do you still live at this address in Brisbane?�
Me� �YES I�VE JUST DRIVEN HERE FROM BRISBANE�
I had to blow in the breathalyser�.
No reading of course!!!
He flashed his torch into the car and woke up both boys and then said�.
CW: �That child is not restrained properly�
Me: �Yes well I�ll wake him shall I and get him to sit up for you� MY INNER VOICE: Yes you idiot we�ve just driven 4 1/2 hours here he was asleep a minute ago so now I�ll get him to sit up and show you he does have a freaking seat belt on arsehole. I am exhausted had I mention that to you too!!!!
I was so annoyed with him and he was annoyed I hadn�t been drinking I think�.
I was about to get back in the car and drive off because there was a long silence and then he says �I�m officially warning you for not indicating�
Me: �Ok I�ll take the warning�

I�m sure he wanted me to say thanks for that but I rolled my eyes and looked very deeply into his eyes waiting for whatever else he had to say, which was nothing!!!

I pulled out from the curb with my indicator going and turned the next corner without my indicator�. (Pokes out her tongue to Constable Williams) and there he is pulling up someone else for some other pathetic offence.

I had arrived in my homefuckingtown�

all text is the � of Ms Do