Doing the Do

2005-02-22

I told you about the GI show and how my sister is the secretary, well the at the last meeting they had one of the Executive Committee members brought her integrity into question. For the first time in the 3 years that she has been there she decided to use some casual labour so she didn�t have to work 24/7 and I mean that 24/7 her hours leading up to the show are nightmarish.� She works ridiculous hours and get a ridiculous low amount of pay for it.

She had a dispute with the same Executive Committee members� wife about 1 week before the show.� It was something to do with the ladies auxiliary and this woman�s nose was out of joint.� My sister doesn�t pull any punches she just told this woman in no uncertain terms that she needed to just drop it and ban together as a community organisation.� Little did she know that this was going to cause such waves for herself.

The wife has flipped out at home and thrown a tantrum and this is how hubby has fixed it by trying to question my sister. Did she actually in fact use that money for wages or something different�. lots of implications inferred.

My sister was horrified at how low this man could go and how little he had investigated the entire situation before getting on his high horse and shooting off at the mouth (the books for one).� It seems the entire executive was gobsmacked as none of them came to her rescue at the meeting.

She resigned the next day.� There has been gossip going all over the town by that specific executive member saying she over reacted.� He apparently has very low credibility in the town and is trying to cover up what an absolute dickhead he is.

My sister rang to tell me all the news on Friday night.� I took it in and the next day while I was cleaning I thought how bad it was and how disgusting her treatment had been.� So I thought fuck it I�m going to write a letter to the editor of the Town paper in her defence.� She goes home to her only son, she like me doesn�t have a husband to support her emotionally.

So here it is�.I�ve run it past my sister to see what she thinks.� I know I will be the cause of a lot of gossip but I just don�t want it impacting on her in such a small town.

You think it should be sent to the paper or not???


THE LETTER
The Glen Innes Show Society has hit an all time low with the shock resignation of the Show Secretary. Ms Do's Sister has served the Glen Innes Show society for the last three years with dedication, loyalty and may hours of work that go beyond her weekly hours. This it seems is not enough for the Show�s Split Executive Committee.

The Show has been running for many years and is a community effort supposedly one that unites a small town, rather than causes fractional rifts. It seems that the spirit of the Glen Innes Show Society has been lost to struggle of the �old boys club�.

The Show�s secretary�s integrity has been brought to question in this struggle for power within a split executive. Lorraine�s position has become untenable under these conditions. This just leaves the Show Society without an exceptional secretary and an opening for another secretary to be open to the same sort of �old boys club� ways, which does not set an example of unity for a community organization.

Ms Do

all text is the � of Ms Do