Doing the Do

2005-03-02

Otis is very excited, two more sleeps, the count down has been on for a while now.

Yesterday i hugged him and said, "Wow 13 your getting old"

"I'm not 13 yet Mum, but I will be on Friday"

"I know but your almost there"

"yes and i'm sooooo excciitttttted"

I smiled back and kissed him. He then said "I am sure going to miss being a kid"

I giggled to myself. As if that magical number is going to automatically turn him into a teenager and he will act differently over night.

They also had a talk at the school about puberty. The boys ring me at work to let me know they are walking home and then they call me when they get here. I don't like the fact they come home to an empty house, but that's how it is. This particular afternoon, Seamus said that he was walking home by himself cause Otis and Harry were giving him a hard time, fighting in fact. Otis got on the phone, i asked what was wrong....He mumbled a few words i couldn't understand except 'PUBERTY', which i heard loud and clear. I said i would talk to him about that when i get home.

I quizzed him as to why he was fighting with his brother on the walk home. He says, "well you know that talk we had, they said that sometimes when your going through puberty you just get mad for no reason", and that was that, i couldn't argue, i get the same with PMT...smile

He also said out of the blue the other day after much thought "ok I know i'm not as responsible as Seamus i know he looks after me, and i'm sick of it!", "Well honey that's something you are going to have to do", i said. His reply "oh ok i will, SEAMUS where did you put my shoes?"


all text is the � of Ms Do