Doing the Do

2005-03-17

Ok just letting you know in advance that Saturday 44 years ago this world became a better place.....Why you ask? Well that's when Ms C J Do entered the world.

I was 8th out of my mother so i'm guessing i just slipped out. She has no memory of it or its very vague....."oh i can't remember, probably your father dropped me off at the hospital and went back to look after the other children"......hmmmm yeah that's the only bit of detail she's shared with me....

A bit like when i had built up the nerve too ask her about the facts of life, she was digging in the garden at the time. She continued digging shovelling dirt over her shoulder....." there is nothing much to tell"....that was it my talk about the facts of life.

Or when i tried to tell her quietly about me getting my period so that she wouldn't tell my other sister. I knew i would suffer at her hands, its a family tradition to be nasty at painful times in your life. She was on the toilet the only time she was alone....smile (yes i realise now it was bad timing now) ....
Me: "Mum i think i have my period"
Mum: "Well either you have or you haven't?"
Me: "Well yeah i think i do....please don't tell...."
Mum: (From the toilet down to other end of the house) "Z A R I........DO HAS HER PERIOD HELP HER"
Me: swallow......zari.

Yeah my fate was sealed i suffered the humilation of my sister saying everytime i sat down.."crinkle crinkle", "surf's up strap on that board"....and other hideous things.

Now the worst part is i'll have to call her on Sat and tell her that's its me Ms Do, you know your daughter, well it's my birthday today...... Damn and bugger that freaking Alzheimers.

So don't forget i need a few well wishes ok from an neglected 8th child....smile

all text is the � of Ms Do