Doing the Do

2005-03-22

It started early Friday the 18th at work. My colleagues had morning tea for me and then a group of 5 of us went out to lunch for my birthday. By the time I got home from the working week I was tired and drained. I didn�t want to go anywhere I just wanted to flop on the lounge. That I did, it was lovely. At about 9pm I decided I needed a bath, so I soaked for about half an hour with couple of glasses of red and vanilla scented candles. This little indulgence put me into one of the deepest sleeps I�ve had in a long time.

The next morning I rose early and felt so revived. I had a phone call at 6.30 am from my sister L, we chatted until the boys arrived home at 7.30am. They wanted breakfast and something �nice� for my birthday. That meant I had to cook so we all had bacon and eggs. I had to go off to the dentist (not nice on any birthday) and when I arrived home girlfriend L greeted me. We had a cup of tea and chatted. She said she would come back and could she please give me my present. You see its her birthday today and I have not had time to get her a gift and asked her if we could exchange them after Easter. I said she was allowed.

This gave me time to tidy the house, as I knew my godmother would be arriving. I had just finished, walked to the back stairs and there is the godmother unloading groceries from her car. She brought, food, chocolate cake, present and some cash. She has done that for years. One year when I was studying and wondering how on earth we were going to survive with food for the week and I had just finished the bottle of shampoo and conditioner. I had resolved to myself that I would have to use soap on my hair (never having done that before) it was hard to swallow. Then the FAIRY godmother arrives with much needed groceries, present (shampoo and conditioner), birthday cake and some cash. When she gave it to me that particular day I just started crying. She had no idea that I had none left and how relieved I was that I would not be using nasty soap on my hair. So from that day forward she has always given me shampoo and conditioner for a present with money. She is constant on my birthday�smile

Anyway I had lunch with the godmother and we chatted about our families. She is my mother�s sister-in-law. Her husband, my Uncle died about 8 years ago. She too grieves the lose of my mother as a friend. Her daughter, my cousin was one year older than me, we spent a lot of time growing up together, and she died over 10 years ago in tragic circumstances. I am deeply connected to her because of this. It was great to see her again.

So as the godmother left L returned bearing gifts. She gave me these great cups and saucers. I have a thing for cups and saucers (she knows this)
-
-
-

-
-

As L left Nerddette arrived, we chatted for a few hours and consumed coffee and smoked like chimney's. I had to wash up all the cups and saucers and then Monique arrived. Again i sat down for more cups of tea. I was feeling very wired on caffeine by this stage. This was about 7pm the boys were hungry and i had promised them i would take them out. We all decided that take out would be best.

I've had phone calls from Mum, Lorraine, Pattie, Judie, Zari, Margaret (all sisters), Mareesa, Robyn, Marrianne, Jenny and Mandy (all friends). Its been a lovely day, I'm so loved, i'm so lucky to have all of them.

all text is the � of Ms Do