Doing the Do

2005-04-17

Saturday morning i woke up started thinking about things i would do before i went off to hear my girlfriend give a talk about her polictical posters that she's been creating for years. A lot she did when we were at art college together, she now has her own art studio/design house.

I had a list a mile long of what i wanted to get done especially the washing that is still mounting in the bathroom. I must have been very focused on that because on the way back from my morning pee i kicked my toe on the lounge. I heard it crack. It didn't hurt like hell as it had done before when i've kicked it. I wasn't running, i wasn't going fast even, but i think i hooked it somehow on the side of the lounge. I looked at it and thought yeah that hurts and realised it was leaning to the right instead of to the left. It looked broken but it wasn't hurting much then.

The boys arrived home and i sat down to collect myself and thought yes it is broken what are you going to do? I tried to stand up and that's when all the pain began. It was so freaking intense i felt like i was going to faint. The boys were looking at me asking if i was ok. I could hardly hear them my ears were ringing. I said i think i'm going to faint. The both closed in over the top of me to cuddle me.....i had to say calmly......"no i need some air don't touch me". I heard Seamus say..."what will we do if you do faint?", "nothing just leave me i guess". I didn't faint. I got cold and clammy and eventually came back round.

I called my sister she took me to the hospital, that was about 8am. I got home at 11 after an x-ray with my toe strapped and some crutches. I had been thinking that i need to do some upper body work but bloody hell not like this.

I did not want to miss out on "R's" talk so we left an hour early so i could get there on time. By the time i got to the lecture theather at Griffith University dragging myself on crutches i was a complete sweat ball.

R and M the two girls i went to art college with were both begging me to come out to R's place as we had planned before the broken toe. I knew i wanted to just go home but M was leaving to go back to UK on monday. M drove me out to R's place and i stayed till about 9pm.

I had to drive home. Its my right second small toe so i still have use of the big toe for the acelerator but the stopping power is very limited. I've had to use my left foot on the brake. Did you ever realise that your left foot doesn't have the sensitivity of your right foot while driving?. Well i found that out the hard way. I ended up having the put both feet on the break and when i did that the left foot followed the right and applied the correct amount of pressure. The things you find out when you have to.

So this morning i have woken with an ear ache in my right ear. That's been coming on for a few days now. It's arrived along with a broken toe that i can't put pressure on to walk with even with my heal. So i tired again with the crutches. Seems now the amount of upper body work i did yesterday using the fucking crutches has left with muscles that are like jelly. So that's left me with my computer chair with wheels to scoot around on. Only problem with that is i have about 20 stairs leading up to my house. I feel like i'm going to be trapped here with 2 starving kids.

Nerddette has offered to come and help me do the washing and help me get groceries thank god for Nerddette! Before she gets here i have to have a shower and make the beds. I should be ready in about 2 hours.....smile

all text is the � of Ms Do