Doing the Do

2005-10-03

Friday night I got the call I�ve been waiting for:

Do: Hello?
P: Ms Do
Do: Yes?�.(listening to the voice intently trying to work out who it is)
Do: Oh P your not ringing me to tell me what I think your going to tell me?
P: Yes
Do: OMG THAT IS EXCELLENT WHEN DID SHE HAVE IT?
P: About 2 hours ago?
Do: What is it?
P: A boy!!!
Do: OMG I knew it was excellent
P: yeah you did!!�.
Do: How is M?
P: She�s doing well, she did so well, she was excellent I�m so proud of her�..it was amazing
Do: You�re a freaking DAD!
P: Yeah I am ��Daddy G!!!
Do: (Laughing)������yeah Daddy G!�.i need more detail P!
P: Ok the waters broke at 4am we went to the hospital at 10 am, she was pushing for hours, she ended up having a Caesar cause her pelvis was too small..
Do: OMG how was she with that?
P: She was fine by that time
Do: How big and name?
P: 8lb 11oz and his name is Noah
Do: (lump in throat) ok excellent that�s lovely. I�m so pleased and proud of you both
P: Ok I have to go I�m doing the ring around..
Do: You go and thanks for calling, How long is she going to be in there and do you think I can go visit
P: She said she wants you too and 3 day I think?
Do: Ok 3 days doesn�t sound enough, thanks again for calling Daddy G!
P: Bye Do!

Yep my girlfriend had her first baby, I�m not one to get clucky over birthing but I have not been close to anyone that has given birth in the last decade really. My kids are 11 and 13 so it�s been lovely to be around M while she got pregnant and now to be here with the birth of Noah.

I went up to see M early Sunday morning first visitor for the day. M was up and about and baby was being a bit unsettled. I nursed him for the most of time while M got organised. She popped back onto the bed and she was looking at that baby like she was deeply in love. It brought back memories good and bad.

M asked me basic questions about what to do and I answered as many as I could for her. She will do fine and they will be excellent parents that baby Noah is a very lucky boy. She will be in hospital for 5 days thank goodness.

I called her again this morning and she said the milk had kicked in and was getting emotional. I assured her that was normal and reminded her that her hormones had been thrown around and picked back up again. She said the baby had lost weight and that is was below how much they normally allow.

I told her not to focus on that kind of stuff. Told her that sometimes the nurses when they work all day at stuff like that they forget that you�re a new mum and will be focusing on that kind shit. She said �is it my fault?�, �No Noah is exhausted, he went through the wrings just like you and he will be fine, the milk is there and he will take off soon enough, just chill and remember you will be emotional today, just let it out� I replied.

M: �thanks Do, I love you�
Do: �I love you too and you will be fine, your world is just revolving around Noah for now and that�s normal, go with it�

Being a new mum is really hard. M will be fine but she will of course be up and down for a little while yet. I told her that too.

SO HAPPY FOR M. Over a year ago she had broken up with P and decided that her chance at having a baby was getting slimmer everyday. I�ve seen her go through so much and I saw P and Her get back together and create this darling boy. They are so in love��smile

all text is the � of Ms Do