Doing the Do

2006-07-28

Life is great, I�m enjoying work, P is wonderful he�s taken to calling me Clarey a name I had as a child. It�s starting to have that domino effect. I notice other people are starting to call me that too. I don�t mind really I guess but I am 45 seems more like a name you might have up to the age of 4 or 5.

I�m not sure I ever told you this but once I went out when the tri nations of rugby where in town. I didn�t even realise and had little or no interest in rugby but that has changed since Seamus has started playing rugby he�s a prop and he�s even scored two yes TWO tries recently. Anyway I ended up at an Irish pub in town completely unaware that most of Scotland, Ireland and Wales were in that bar all men of course. They ranged from men in there 70�s to young bucks. I went up to the bar to get a drink and an Irish man standing beside me did a double take and said �ah ya Irish lass?� and I answered, �born and breed in Australia but I do have Irish blood somewhere.� He kept looking at me shaking his head and repeated over and over �ah lass ya ah Irish� he even got his mates to take and look and they all said the same thing �ah sheees dead Irish�.

It was a fantastic night actually at one stage I went to the toilet and found a Scotsman playing the bagpipes in his kilt in the toilet and winking at every female that entered the toilets. It was a real hoot. I even had too young boys proposition me for a three some�..yeah imagine that. I considered for about 5 mins then declined.

The point of all this is that P tells me I look like the Black Irish. I�ve never heard of them apparently they have deep blue eyes and very dark hair�.and yeah I have that. So that�s why he calls me Clarey Doone in a very thick Irish accent (my name Clare Dunn very plain). He says �ah there�s me black Irish beauty Clarey Doone�, it makes me smile every time. He�s an ijit sometimes really�smile.

Check out what The Straight Dope has to say about the Black Irish.

Seamus my youngest son is 11 almost 12 and I can tell you right here and now he needs an attitude transplant if he and I are going to survive the teenage years. We have been at logger heads and he has called me some wicked names. Anyway those things will be ongoing I suppose. I did have an interesting conversation with him. He has no idea now that I know how his mind works and that he is well aware of what he is doing. I have always given in to him in some form or another. He has no idea how strong my will is but he will find out if he continues down this smart arse path.

all text is the � of Ms Do