Doing the Do

2006-08-22

I�m going to Ballimore on Wednesday night. Ballimore is the stadium/oval/field where state and international Ruby is played in Brisbane. I�ve never really been into Rugby or any football kind of sports. I only ever played netball, basketball, tennis, hockey and swimming. Typical girly kind of sports!

Having sons has made me have to re think sport a bit and I have actually become interested in rugby because Seamus now plays. It�s his first season he has loved it I even now know what the referee is saying with the hand signals.

So on Sunday we made a � hour trip to Albany Creek (I�ve never been there before) and we got lost twice; we were five minutes late as the game had started. Seamus warmed up on the sideline and was eventually sent on. He was playing a normal game, he�s not aggressive but he has managed to score several tries this season. He�s a big boy for his age and in Rugby that counts for bit when you�re a prop (someone who packs into the scrum). He went in for a normal tackle he went for the boy�s waist and because the boy was small the boys fell off his feet. Seamus was placing him back onto the ground to �clear out� of the tackle ( I put that in inverted commas because he keeps saying that like its something I should know about rugby) when the referee blew his whistle and yelled �Dangerous play get OFF the field� pointed to the sideline and held up his red card. Yes Seamus had been sent off, he was crying before he even got off the field.

I understand that the referee�s judgement is final but he could have at the very least stopped the play and explained to him why he was sending him off and discussed the idea that Seamus was going to spear tackle the boy (which he didn�t do I might add). He could have given him a yellow card and a warning and EXPLAINED what was going on. I don�t know the rules of rugby and I rely on the men of the team the manager and the coach to teach and inform him.

Anyway in this particular game the referee was being accessed and he gave not, one red card, but 3 red cards! He ended up stopping the game and called for a field marshal. It was international rugby with 11 year old boys.

As a result of this Seamus and I have to front at Ballimore to face the judiciary of rugby�yes me. It�s so bloody unbelievable it will be interesting and I will let you know the results. My first trip to Ballimore!!

all text is the � of Ms Do