Doing the Do

2006-10-18

The Riverside Express way in Brisbane the city I live in has been closed, due to a hairline crack in the bridge. It connects the north and south side of Brisbane. Traditionally all north siders don�t really know the south side and prefer their side of the city and visa versa. Now I know why this age old tradition exists. It�s because without the Riverside Expressway the major road which connects both sides meant there was only about 2 points to cross the river. The William Jolly Bridge and the Storey Bridge and they don�t take much traffic.

Well yesterday afternoon both the William Jolly and the Storey were grid locked and I was caught in that shit fight to get across the river over to the south side. Normally it takes me about 20 mins to � hour to get home of an afternoon because I go across the Riverside Express way. I got home after leaving work at 5pm I drove into the driveway at 6.20pm. Yes 1 freaking hour and 20 mins.

This morning I decided to catch the train, I use to do that on a regular basis before I was given a car park for a reasonable price here at work. (Yes I have to pay $65 per month just to park at work). That�s Brisbane City living if you work at Milton (a place where parking is non existent and live at Holland Park.

I parked my car a distance from the station because all roads leading to the city were of course choc-a-block full of traffic. As I approached the station the gates to cross the tracks were closing I slipped across having to hold the gate open so I could. I was smoking at the time too. I was told that what I did was worth a $150 fine. I smiled and pleaded ignorance. There was a line a mile long for tickets and someone had decided they were not going by train after all and wanted to sell their ticket. I offered as I had the correct money and the ticket was for my stop. No one saw this scalping exchange (I mean official) otherwise I might have been in trouble again.

I tried to get on the train that arrived but it was bursting at the seams with people and as I had a backpack I decided to wait. I walked along the platform smoking and again I got approached by an official I was in breach of another law. Again I pleaded ignorance.

I could have collected at least $500 in fines this am if I had not been so ignorant. Sometimes ignorance is bliss�.or should that be feigning ignorance is a blessing�. I don�t know but either way I�m at work in a lather of sweat.

all text is the � of Ms Do