Doing the Do

2006-10-27

My boss, yes my boss is trying to hide his sexuality from me. I have no idea why, it doesn�t bother me one way or the other really. Being gay is not an issue for me at all. My brother is gay and when he was 18 I supported him coming out.

Anyway within the first month of working here I was convinced he was gay and I almost said something but I didn�t. I guess it�s none of my business but I didn�t want it to become an issue. And now well it is only because he is trying everything to keep it from me.

His partner is called Lou. I did mention once when I was having difficulty with the boys that he was kind of lucky he didn�t have to deal with his own kids. He remarked �Well it isn�t for not trying we would like to have them but we can�t�. This statement changed my entire perception of him and I started calling his partner Louise. He also called him �Louise�.

I felt like I was a really bad judge of character, how I could get it so wrong and imagine me asking him if he was gay when in fact he has a partner called �Louise�. I shuddered at the thought of how badly I had read him and thanked my lucky stars that I said zilch.

Then about 1 month ago I was talking to our receptionist while I was outside having a cig with him. He�s gay, and I said �Oh J I honestly thought that M was gay and I almost said something to him�, he looked at me and said �oh he IS GAY, he flirts outrageously with me all the time.�

I went back upstairs feeling like I had been cheated or mislead but my instincts were in fact correct the first time.

So at the next possible opportunity when he was talking about �Lou/Louise� I said well HE doesn�t have to come you know. M stopped dead and didn�t say much at all, but I could see he was a bit taken back.

This week I have been laid out flat from back pain and an abscess on my tooth so I called M at his house on Sunday night to say I�m not coming in and we got talking. He kept referring to Lou/Louise as a HE and then a SHE and it was driving me crazy. I have no tolerance when I�m in pain. This week has been a test because frankly I�m still in pain. So I said �oh M I thought Lou was a man!�, he stopped dead of course then quickly said �No Lou is Louise it�s a woman!�
�Oh really� I replied
�Take another pain killer Do!� he said.

I had to call his house on Monday night to say I was not coming in again and guess who answers the phone �Lou� with a very male sounding voice.

I rang M on Tuesday morning to say I was not coming in and he gave me this very long winded story about the person staying there and answering his phone was his brother-in-law. The story just got thicker and thicker. I didn�t have the heart to say oh that�s funny that his name is �Lou�.

I was telling the receptionist again this afternoon about the next denial of his sexuality. J said �0h I�m going to asking him how �LOUISE� is�
�Please don�t he doesn�t want to me to know for some reason and the hole he is digging is just getting deeper it will just be embarrassing for him�.

We are living in 2006 aren�t we?

all text is the � of Ms Do