Doing the Do

2007-03-19

Happy Birthday to me!!

Phil flew out to the UK on Friday night, knowing that his mother had died at 2am that morning. He was really upset, shaken and wishing he could have been there. I drove him to the airport straight after work. The traffic was grid locked everywhere and I took a route that got us there in time for his flight. I had the radio on and was listening for the traffic report that really helped.

It was a year to that day that Phil and I had met and I felt really upset for him and his sister. I knew how deeply he was hurting about not seeing his mother for the last time we had spoken about it. I felt sad.

I waved him good bye at 7pm then drove madly back to my house to meet my girlfriends for some drinks. I was feeling really stressed and overwhelmed, because I didn�t have any food for them and as soon as I got inside about 2 mins later they arrived.

They arrived with some lovely food which I really appreciated. We all sat down and proceeded to drink. I thought we had had a good night, yes I was drunk but so were the other 2, but alas it was me that caused this diary entry from a girlfriend. I wasn�t obnoxious, I don�t remember being rude.

I came to work on my birthday today and read this:


It's been a weird weekend. Friday night was a clear reminder of why I don't drink much. What I really want to know is whether people are who they really are when they're drunk - a bolder, more arrogant version of themselves? Or someone they wish they were? In vino veritas? It was like Meredith on morphine, saying what she really wants to say, no inhibitions and no thought past this moment or concept of the consequences of words. I only had two glasses and I think it will be a while before I'm game enough to drink again. I'm wondering what I would say if I got to that stage?

(Geez ... I wrote some things but NOT being drunk or high on morphine I thought about the fallout and deleted it. Consider yourselves lucky.)

I called to see 1. if it was me first of all and 2. what was said?

I got the answer it was me, but she couldn�t tell me or won�t because she is at work and that I will just defend myself because I was drinking.

I wrote this back in her comments

Ok this is after i rang you at work to find out what was said. I'm the offender to all the readers. I don't remember what i said, Tertia won't tell me as she says i will use the excuse of having too much to drink.

I have to spend my day being pissed off and being in a state of anxiety until Tertia is ready to tell me.

To tell you the truth really if i can't spend a night of getting pissed with my supportive girlfriends and be able to relax without having to be on guard for my birthday drinks than really i'm over the girlfriend factor. If our freindship can't survive that then It's too much hard work, i've brought our freindship back once Tertia.

Happy birthday to me girlfriend.

PS I'm sending this via the your blog cause this is where you choose to communicate with me.

I have now twice written who it was from but she has deleted my name even though she uses my name in her blog always.

I�m really sorry for whatever I said but I feel this mode of communication is really poor if you�re a girlfriend. She could have just told me, I would have said I was sorry, but you know what, I don�t feel sorry right now, I feel really let down and slapped in the face. I have no more cheeks to present.

all text is the � of Ms Do