Doing the Do

2007-04-04

Testing has begun at work. I should still be in there testing but I have sent through as much as I can until they connect up the next section of the intranet.

I just had a visit from a person here at work, she often complains about stuff and I admire her directness at coming straight to me to tell me that the intranet is not up-to-date. Yes she�s right it�s not at the moment the development work has pushed the content freeze out for over 2 weeks. I�m aiming to get it loaded onto the test server by tomorrow so I can work on it all over Easter when I don�t have the boys. I�ll get these days back later that is not a problem.

I tried explaining to her what was going on. They all just think it can be fixed overnight and that we should move away from the content engine we have. I said that one month after I started working here. I can see that they all think its me. But it has taken 1 year of talking and explaining that we need a new CME and this one is no longer satisfactory for the company.

Then they think that change can happen over night just like that click your fingers and it happens. That�s the problem with people that have no idea about what goes on behind the front end of a freaking computer. Changing from a CME to another takes time, MONEY, effort and the go ahead from the people above. No to mention the man or in this case woman hours it requires to do this. It is so frustrating�..They feel frustrated, I know that but hey meanwhile I�m dragging my fingers on the floor for the last year just waiting for this to begin. Doesn�t look like it will be anytime soon either because Corporate IT won�t even load Sharepoint 2007 onto the server until it has a least gone through one upgrade��sigh. Pushing shit up hill as always with an intranet.

I just wish there was a place in Brisbane that realised the worth of an intranet and corresponding poured the required amount of money into it and the staff to go along with it.

I�m the only Intranet person here and I have now taken on the Middle East and another Company into the intranet. So that means I�m (ME ALONE) is servicing over 3,000 people. That number is just going to grow meanwhile I�m working with a freaking dinosaur a bit like playing with an ATARI 2600 when your up against a Playstation 3. You get my drift?

I want to work for a company that values there staff enough to invest money into an intranet that it can be used as a productive tool to help with everyday work not waste time money and effort with old resources.

all text is the � of Ms Do